For the first time since 2012, BFGoodrich Tires is marking its return to the Dakar Rally as the official tyre supplier of the 2017 event.

BFGoodrich Tires has a storied history at Dakar, amassing 12 overall victories from 1999 to 2012.



BFGoodrich Return to Dakar 2017

For the 2017 edition, the world's most grueling motorsport event kicks off on 2nd January in Asunción, Paraguay and travels over 8,000 kilometers over the following two weeks. The 2017 route travels through Bolivia and Argentina encountering extreme temperatures and high altitudes, over rugged and unpredictable terrain - the sort of proving ground in which BFGoodrich thrives.

"BFGoodrich has a long-tenured racing heritage, and we're excited to continue our global involvement in racing in the dirt with our official return to the Dakar Rally," said Michelin and BFGoodrich Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon.

"Cross-country rally racing is a distinct challenge, and this race features some of the most arduous terrain on the planet. As with other forms of racing where BFGoodrich competes, our commitment stays the same in this discipline. We continue to use all the technical information we learn in racing laboratories around the world to develop new technology and constantly improve our products, while taking on the toughest conditions on earth."

The BFGoodrich competition tyres used for the 2017 Dakar Rally include products raced and tested across the globe:

BFGoodrich All-Terrain KDR2:  A uniquely constructed competition tyre specifically created for cross-country rally racing. Sharing similar characteristics with the BFGoodrich Baja T/A® KR2, this racing tyre is designed to be lighter and sports a new tread pattern. The tyre is tuned for the increased handling requirements and designed specifically for the championship-winning Peugeot 2008 motorsports effort and the Toyota Gazoo Racing team in Dakar.

BFGoodrich All-Terrain KDR: Similar to the KDR2, this tyre delivers grip on all types of terrain, along with driving comfort and greater braking stability. This tyre is designed to withstand the extra sidewall abuse found specifically with the heavier four-wheel-drive vehicles such as the efforts of Toyota/Overdrive, Mini X-Raid and Mini ALL4 teams.

BFGoodrich Baja T/A KR2: This tyre has already conquered the Baja desert and will bolster the capability of the two-wheel-drive buggies competing in the 2017 Dakar. Its tread is designed to deliver maximum traction on soft ground, extreme protection against sidewall damage and balanced braking and cornering performance.

BFGoodrich Tires will outfit over 300 vehicles competing in Dakar and all of the race tyres supplied are designed and constructed to withstand the punishment of the varied Dakar conditions (everything from mud to powdery sand and snow) thrown at them. This technology is then transferred to the brand's consumer tyres, which share similar compounds and structure with the competition tyres used at the event. Additionally, the BFGoodrich Tires for Dakar and the company's latest consumer tyres are built in the same manufacturing plant in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

It's that hard-learned and hard-won "know how" that migrates from BFGoodrich competition tyres to acclaimed consumer models like the All-Terrain T/A KO2 tyre, which features excellent durability and extreme traction.

The Dakar Rally may be the world's most grueling innovation lab, but BFGoodrich Tires races to win, not just to learn. With the first victory occurring in the Paris-to-Dakar class victory in 1993, BFGoodrich followed with a dozen overall Dakar victories, including 10 straight wins from 2002 to 2012:  

  • 1993: BFGoodrich wins FIA Off Road Rally World Cup 2WD Championship with Jean-Louis Schlesser and class win at Paris to Dakar Rally
  • 1999 - 2000: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with John-Louis Schlesser
  • 2002 - 2003: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Hiroshi Masuoka in a Mitsubishi Pajero
  • 2004: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Stephane Peterhansel in a Mitsubishi Pajero, sweeping 1st, 2nd and3rd place
  • 2005: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Stephane Peterhansel in a Mitsubishi Pajero
  • 2006: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Luc Alphand in a Mitsubishi  Pajero / Montero Evo
  • 2007: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Stephane Peterhansel in a Mitsubishi Pajero/ Montero Evo
  • 2008: Dakar Rally cancelled in 2008
  • 2009: BFGoodrich wins the Dakar Rally with Giniel de Villiers in a Volkswagen Touareg
  • 2010: BFGoodrich wins Dakar Rally with Carlos Sainz in a Volkswagen Touareg
  • 2011: BFGoodrich wins Dakar Rally with Nassar Saleh Al-Attiyah in a Volkswagen Touareg
  • 2012: BFGoodrich wins Dakar Rally with Stephane Peterhansel in a Mini Cooper


With 120 years of heritage, BFGoodrich® Tires is dedicated to providing high performance tyres for those who have a passion for driving in virtually any environment. Combining technical expertise with over 40 years of motorsports experience, BFGoodrich Tires delivers tyres for a full range of driving experiences from ultra-high performance street to off-road terrain with one common theme - driving pleasure. Upgrade your performance with BFGoodrich and make your own way.